Bob Surace Named FCS Coach Of The Year Finalist For The Third Time In The Last Six Years

  • November 17, 2016

Published on | Read the full article here

Bob Surace ’90, the Charles W. Caldwell Head Coach of Football, has been named one of 15 finalists for the Eddie Robinson Award, which honors the FCS Coach of the Year.

Surace has guided a Princeton team projected to finish fifth in the Ivy preseason poll to the brink of its second title in the last four years. The Tigers (7-2, 5-1 Ivy) have won six of their last seven games — with the lone loss coming in overtime — and have outscored their last three opponents 115-10. Three years after the Tiger offense rewrote the Ivy League record book en route to the program’s 10th Ivy title, the Princeton defense has been dominant over the last two months to help lead the Tigers into Saturday’s championship showdown with Dartmouth. Princeton leads the Ivy League in scoring defense (15.9), total defense (311.2), and rushing defense (82.2). Last year, Princeton ranked fourth (23.7), eighth (430.2), and seventh (158.6) in the Ivy League in those respective categories.

Nationally, Princeton ranks fourth in the FCS in scoring defense, sixth in rush defense, and 17th in total defense.

The Princeton offense has also made major contributions this season. Junior John Lovett leads the FCS in touchdowns scored, while Princeton ranks first in the Ivy League in scoring offense and rushing offense. Ironically, the Tigers’ opponent this weekend — Dartmouth — leads the league in both total offense and passing offense.

STATS will present the esteemed Robinson Award at the national awards banquet on the eve of the NCAA Division I FCS Championship Game on Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas. The 15 finalists are: Brian Bohannon, Kennesaw State; Rod Broadway, North Carolina A&T; Steve Campbell, Central Arkansas; Andy Coen, Lehigh; Broderick Fobbs, Grambling State; Mike Houston, James Madison – In his first season at JMU, the Dukes are 9-1, with only a loss to North Carolina, and have clinched their first outright CAA Football championship since 2008; K.C. Keeler, Sam Houston State; Chris Klieman, North Dakota State; Dale Lindsey, San Diego; Jerry Mack, North Carolina Central; Bubba Schwiegert, North Dakota; Jason Simpson, UT Martin; Bob Surace, Princeton; Brent Thompson, The Citadel; and Chris Villarrial, Saint Francis.

Click here for a full preview of Saturday’s Princeton-Dartmouth game.

Print Friendly Version