Monday Championship Notes: Lovett Earns Fourth Weekly Honor, Shares Poe-Kazmaier Award With Holuba

  • November 21, 2016

Published on | Read the full article here

Here are the Monday Notes — a championship edition — following Princeton’s 38-17 win over Dartmouth.
• Here are the highlights and post-game press conference from the win over Dartmouth.

• Princeton made its debut in the Athlon Sports FCS Power Poll this week.

John Lovett earned his fourth Ivy League Offensive Player of the Week award, whish is tied for the third-most single-season weekly honors in Ivy League history. Two players have earned the Offensive Player of the Week award six times, including Lovett’s former teammate, Quinn Epperly. Lovett earned the honor after wins over Georgetown (3 rush, 1 pass TD), Brown (1 rush, 2 pass), Cornell (2 rush, 4 pass, 1 receiving) and Dartmouth (2 rush, 1 pass).

• Lovett broke the single-season rushing touchdown mark set by Keith Elias ’94 on the 1-yard touchdown that put Princeton ahead for good on Saturday. His 20 rushing touchdowns this season is the fourth-most in Ivy League history; the only players with more in one season were Ed Marinaro (24, Cornell, 1971), Mike McLeod (23, Yale, 2007), and Tyler Varga (22, Yale, 2014).

• Lovett, who was also named the Athlete of the Week presented by Suburban Transit, accounted for 31 touchdowns this season (20 rush, 10 pass, 1 receiving). Cornell, Brown, Yale, Dartmouth and Columbia all scored 30 or fewer touchdowns total this season.

• Lovett and Kurt Holuba shared the esteemed Poe-Kazmaier Award, the top honor for a Princeton Football player, at Sunday’s Lourie Football Banquet. The 2016 Princeton recipients included:

The John P. Poe – Richard W. Kazmaier, Jr. Football Trophy
Awarded to that member of the Princeton football team of good moral character, who, during the season in addition to proving himself a player of ability, has best exemplified the following traits and characteristics: Loyalty and devotion to Princeton’s football interests, courage, manliness, self-control and modesty, perseverance and determination under discouraging conditions, observance of the rules of the game and fairness towards opponents.
2016 winners: Kurt Holuba and John Lovett

The Charles W. Caldwell Memorial Trophy
Awarded to that senior member of the varsity football squad who has shown the greatest improvement in football during his years at Princeton. In memoryof Charles W. Caldwell ’25, Head Coach of Princeton Football 1945-1957.
2016 winners: James Gales, Samuel Huffman, and Henry Schlossberg

The Dr. Harry Roemer McPhee Award
Awarded annually to a member of the football squad who has demonstrated the qualities of durability and fortitude.
2016 winner: Luke Catarius and Rohan Hylton

The Class of ’52 Award
Established in 1988 by the Class of 1952 as a mark of their love, devotion and service. Awarded annually to that member of the football team who has excelled on special teams play, exemplifying pride, hustle and determination.
2016 winners: Pat Hall and Tyler Roth

The Richard W. Colman Scholar-Athlete Award
Awarded annually to that senior member of the football team who has demonstrated excellence in scholarship, athletic skill, team contribution and sportsmanship. In memory of Dick Colman, Head Football Coach 1957-1972.
2016 winners: Scott Carpenter and Chad Kanoff

The Ronald A. Rogerson Award
Awarded annually to that member of the football team whose spirit and love of the game have served as a special inspiration to his fellow players. In memory of Ronald A. Rogerson, Head Coach 1985-88.
2016 winners: Joe Rhattigan and Dorian Williams

The Hank Towns Award
Awarded annually to the player who has given the most back to Princeton football.
2016 winners: Isaiah Barnes and Markus Phox

The Harland ‘Pink’ Baker ’22 Award
Established in 1981 by the Friends of Princeton Football in honor of Harland ‘Pink’ Baker ’22, varsity Football 22 letterman on the ‘Team of Destiny’ and long-time friend of Princeton football players. Defensive Rookie of the Year: Awarded annually to that freshman or sophomore, starting for the first time in his career, who has made the greatest contribution on the defensive side of the ball.
2016 winner: TJ Floyd

The Donold B. Lourie Award
Offensive Rookie of the Year: Awarded annually to that freshman or sophomore, starting for the first time in his career, who has made the greatest contribution on the offensive side of the ball.
2016 winner: Reily Radosevich

• Princeton won its 11th Ivy League championship this weekend. Officially, the Tigers shared it with Penn. Officially.