Mollie Marcoux Samaan Named To Prestigious College Football Leadership Committee For 150th Celebration

  • June 28, 2017

Published on | Read the full article here

College football, one of America’s most beloved and popular institutions, is getting ready to celebrate a big birthday. And it plans to do so in style.

A group of college football leaders announced plans today to launch a nationwide celebration to commemorate the game’s 150th birthday. Princeton Ford Family Director of Athletics Mollie Marcoux Samaan has been selected as one of the 13 members of this committee.

“I am honored to represent Princeton University, one of the founding fathers of college football, on this national committee,” Marcoux Samaan said. “I am very proud of Princeton’s important role in the legacy and development of college football throughout the game’s history and am particularly proud of Princeton Football’s consistent and passionate commitment to excellence on the field, in the classroom and in the community.”

“No one could have imagined that since the first football game was played on November 6, 1869 that college football would grow to become one of America’s greatest traditions, beloved by tens of millions of fans every year,” said Larry Scott, Pac-12 Commissioner and a member of the organizing committee.  “At all divisions of play, college football is special and we intend to launch a nationwide celebration to mark the anniversary.”

Longtime college athletics administrator Kevin Weiberg, former Big 12 Conference commissioner, has been selected to run the effort, beginning August 1, 2017.  He will work out of the National Football Foundation’s office in Dallas, Texas.

“This is a very exciting moment for fans of college football,” Weiberg said. “Across the country, college football is a deeply ingrained part of life for millions and millions of people.  While it’s too soon to know our exact plans, we want to put something together that is big and special, something fans can be proud of.  We will work closely with leaders from all divisions of college football to build a national celebration for fans to enjoy.”

It is anticipated that the commemoration will be celebrated at all divisions of college football during the 2019 season, with a focus on November 6, and culminating with the College Football Playoff championship game in January 2020.

Weiberg will report to a committee made up of representatives from Rutgers University, Princeton University, the NCAA, American Football Coaches Association, the Division I conferences, National Football Foundation, National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics and others.

The group includes:

Todd Berry, executive director, American Football Coaches Association
Ari Fleischer, president, Ari Fleischer Communications
Bill Hancock, executive director, College Football Playoff
Steve Hatchell, president and chief executive officer, National Football  Foundation
Pat Hobbs, director of athletics, Rutgers University
Chris Howard, president, Robert Morris University
Mike Kern, associate commissioner, Missouri Valley Conference
Oliver Luck, executive vice-president of regulatory affairs, NCAA
Mollie Marcoux Samaan, athletics director, Princeton University
Larry Scott, commissioner, Pac-12 Conference
Jon Steinbrecher, commissioner, Mid-American Conference
Bob Vecchione, executive director, National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics
Wright Waters, executive director, Football Bowl Association