Chad Kanoff Highlights Princeton Six Named To 2018 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

  • April 11, 2018

Published on | Read the full article here

Chad Kanoff, the 2017 Bushnell Cup recipient who set the single-season passing record in the Ivy League last season, was one of six Princeton seniors who were named to the prestigious 2018 NFF Hampshire Honor Society Wednesday. This group of standouts was honored for more than its play on the field; the Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers.

Kanoff joined teammates Khalil BryantRichard BushAdam HoffmanChance Melancon, and Erik Ramirez as 2018 honorees. Each of the six were either starters or consistent members of the two-deep this past season, and the majority also played critical roles in the 2016 Ivy League championship season.

“We are pleased to see another record number of athletes honored by the Hampshire Honor Society this year,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “Over the past decade, it has become a powerful vehicle for schools to recognize their college football players who have distinguished themselves both academically and athletically, and we congratulate the schools and each of these young men for their commitment to excellence in all aspects of their lives.”

Members of the NFF Hampshire Honor Society must have:
Completed their final year of playing eligibility in 2017;
Achieved a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study;
and met all NCAA- or NAIA-mandated progress toward degree requirements.

The Hampshire Honor Society represents an important component in the organization’s rich history as an innovator in promoting the scholar-athlete ideal, which began in 1959 with the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards. Launched with a donation from Hall of Fame coach Earl “Red” Blaik, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, became the first initiative in history to grant postgraduate scholarships based on a player’s combined academic success, football performance and community leadership. Since its inception, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards program has awarded $11.3 million to 841 top scholars and community leaders.