Bob Surace, John Lovett Selected As Tri-State Recipients Of Prestigious Maxwell Trophy

  • December 20, 2018

Published on | Read the full article here

The Maxwell Football Club announced that head coach Bob Surace has been selected as the winner of the Club’s 21st Andy Talley Tri-State Coach of the Year Award, and that All-America quarterback John Lovett was named the recipient of the Brian Westbrook Tri-State Player of the Year.

Surace engineered an incredible 2018 season, guiding the Tigers to a 10-0 record and a No. 8 FCS national ranking. Along the way Princeton set an Ivy League record for scoring offense (47.0 points/game) and was ranked in the top 10 nationally in scoring offense (2nd), total offense (3rd), third-down conversion percentage (3rd), turnover margin (4th), rushing offense (6th) and rushing defense (7th).

Surace has guided Princeton to three Ivy League titles in the last six years — the most titles for Princeton in that span since the 1960s — and this year’s 10-0 record was the Tigers’ first undefeated season since 1964. Their capstone win was tough 14-9 decision over Dartmouth in the first November matchup of Ivy League unbeatens since 2001. Surace was named as the Ivy League Coach of the Year for the second time in the last three seasons, and he was a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award.

This honor is a particularly special one for Surace, though. The Millville, N.J. native grew up knowing of the Maxwell Trophy, and the March presentation will take place near his hometown at the Tropicana Casino Resort in Atlantic City.

A 6-3, 230-pound signal caller, Lovett had one of the best seasons in Princeton history while spearheading the record-setting Tigers to an undefeated season and outright Ivy League championship. He led the Ivy League in total offense (303 yards per game) and was second in rushing (99.3 yards) and passing (203.7 yards). Lovett completed 66 percent of his passes for 1,833 yards, a league-best 18 touchdowns and three interceptions. He ran for 894 yards and scored another 13 touchdowns and finished his career with a rushing touchdown in a record 20 straight games.

Earlier this month Lovett earned Ivy League Offensive Player of the Year honors for the second time in his career and he was also named as an All-American for the second time his Princeton career (2016 & 2018). He is the second Princeton football player to receive this honor, and he joins the most exclusive company in doing so; the only other Maxwell winner was 1951 Heisman Trophy winner Dick Kazmaier.

Surace and Lovett will be honored Friday, March 8, 2019 at the 82nd Maxwell Club National Awards Gala, which will be held at the Tropicana Casino Resort. Also receiving awards at this event will be; Tua Tagovialoa – Alabama (Maxwell Award) and Josh Allen- Kentucky (Chuck Bednarik Award), The Maxwell Football Club will announce the winners of the Bert Bell Award (Professional Player of the Year) and Earl “Greasy” Neale Award (Professional Coach of the Year) in January. Other MFC Awards at the high school, college and professional levels will also be announced in early January.

Tickets for the Maxwell Football Club National Awards Gala are available for purchase on the Club’s website or by calling 215-643-3833.

Questions concerning any of the Maxwell Football Club’s awards or programs can be directed to MFC Executive Director Mark Wolpert at [email protected].

About the Maxwell Football Club
The Maxwell Football Club (MFC) was founded in 1935 and is a registered 501c3 Non-Profit Corporation. The MFC promotes and recognizes excellence at all levels of football from youth leagues through the professional ranks. Each year the MFC offers programs which focus on player and coach development, safety, and player wellness. The Club also presents many of the premiere awards in the football world each year. Membership is open and additional information on the Club can be found at